Thanksgiving meal

Lunch table

Hi everyone! Thanksgiving is just a few days away and I am so excited to see my family.  This is my favorite time of year!  We are busy planning our Thanksgiving menu, as I am sure many of you are as well.  My family has many family recipes that have been passed down for many years.  But, through marriage, we have several that are not southerners.  And this is where the yearly disagreements over traditional food begins.  Being from the south, I was taught to make chicken and dumplings from scratch.  I mix flour and buttermilk and a few other ingredients.  I knead the dough, roll it out, and slice into dumplings.  This is what I know a dumpling to be.  However, our northern family members disagree.  A dumpling to these family members is canned biscuits pulled apart and dropped into boiling chicken. 

This is not the only difference that we have.  In the south, we have dressing, not stuffing.  I grew up eating dressing, so this is what I know and love.  To be fair, I have tried traditional stuffing prepared from scratch.  It was okay, but I prefer my dressing! I’m sure there are several traditional Thanksgiving meals, and I am sure that I am not the only one having this discussion over dinner.  As always, I will whole-heartedly defend my southern traditions this year!  What Thanksgiving meal traditions to you all have?

Leave a Reply

